Kanji: 非. Radical: 非. Number of strokes: 8. Meaning: “ negative”. Pronunciation: ヒhi.

Taryag mitzvot

Taryag mitzvot תרי"ג מצוות – 613 commandments in the Jewish tradition, first mentioned Rabbi Simlai 3rd century CE, including "positive commandments" (mitzvot aseh), and "negative commandments" (mitzvot lo taaseh). The mitzvot are divided into three groups: 1. Mishpatim = Laws with rational explanation 2. Eidot = Laws understood after being explained 3. Chukim = Laws without rational explanation. Many of the mitzvot cannot be observed now according to the change of context particul. after the destruction of the Second Temple.
“The Jew was given 613 commandments (mitzvot), according to the Talmud, which contain 248 positive commands and 365 negative ones. The positive mitzvot equal the number of parts of the body; the negative mitzvot correspond to the number of days in the solar year.” (ohr.edu)
Some of the 613 commandments:
1. To know that G-d exists
11. To honor the old and the wise
17. To circumcise the male offspring
28. Not to wrong any one in speech
53. To love the stranger
59. To honor father and mother
111. To rest on Shabbat

Taryag mitzvot

Taryag mitzvot - 613 commandements dans la tradition juive, mentionnés pour la première fois par le rabbin Simlai au IIIe siècle de notre ère, comprenant les "commandements positifs" (mitsvot aseh) et les "commandements négatifs" (mitzvot lo taaseh). Les mitzvot sont divisés en trois groupes : 1. Mishpatim = lois ayant une explication rationnelle 2. Eidot = lois qui peuvent être comprises après avoir été expliquées 3. Chukim = lois sans explication rationnelle. De nombreux mitsvot ne peuvent pas être observés maintenant en raison du changement de contexte, en particulier après la destruction du Second Temple.

taryag mitzvot

613 commandments as prescribed in the Torah, mentioned from the 3rd century CE, the most traditional enumeration being Maimonides'. They include "positive commandments" (how to perform an act) numbered 248, and "negative commandments" (how to abstain from certain acts) numbered 365. They are also divided in 3 categories: Mishpatim ("laws") assumed to be self-evident, Edot ("testimonies") commemorating events in Jewish history and Chukim ("decrees") with no evidence referring to the Divine will.

Any suggestion, improvement…? Many thanks and please, contact us…
Back to Top